Beauty

Valentine’s Day Makeup Tutorial

 Hey everyone! It’s just two days to go until Valentine’s Day as over the top and kind of cheesy and cringey this day can be, its a cute way to show someone you care about them and of course, importantly, its an excuse for a new makeup look!

I’m so into the romantic pinks at the moment – a surprise to me too considering I am not a massive pink lover; in fact, I’m not even a slight pink lover if I’m honest. I’m borderline a pink hater…but none the less, it’s become something I actually quite enjoy these past few weeks – almost like turning 20 has allowed me to take on this new adult way of appreciating a romantic pink. So, because I’ve been all over them, this is gonna feature quite a few pinks – and what’s that I hear you cry? No red lip? Are you mad? Well yes, maybe I am, because this tutorial doesn’t actually involve a bold red lip: I’m branching out, people.

What this tutorial does have however, is a couple of recent purchases/gifts and my first time showing you guys what the fuss is all about with them on the blog so hold tight for lots of Maybelline Blushed Nudes loving, and a new highlighter with a lot of oomph.

 

So…face and lips first:
I started off by moisturising my face as always and then going straight in with the Primark P.S Range CC Green Colour Corrector on any red blemishes, or red patches in my skin – usually around my nose and chin plus any spots I have. I blend this all in using the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. These days I mix it up, some days doing a full face of foundation, and other days just going with concealer and a foundation style powder just to keep things a bit lighter. Today I just went in with concealer, using the Rimmel Lasting Finish Concealer under my eyes and the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer on any blemishes. I then used the L’oreal True Match Powder all over to add more coverage. I then cracked out the Collection Blush and Glow Palette and applied the contour shade under my cheekbones, and used the darker, more mauve/pink blusher shade to add some pink in there. I then used the BD Trade Secrets Dream Shine Highlighter on the tops of my cheekbones to add some highlight. This is a liquid highlight and it’s super easy to use and superrrr shiny so a tiny bit goes a long way! I finished the base off by adding my lip colour of choice: the Rimmel Colour Rush Balm in Keep On Mauving. I wear this shade all the time for uni – you can make it as light or as dark as you like and it’s really moisturising and balm like and of course, it smells DELICIOUS so if your date is getting all up in your lips – it’s the perfect choice 😉

   

And now the eyes…
So first off: brows. I’ve been using my trusty Rimmel Brow This Way Kit as always – yes it’s still the same one (!!). It’s a golden oldie. I then wapped out my new Maybelline Blushed Nudes Palette (which btw, I’m in LOVE with) and used many a shade. I started with mixing the white shade and the very palest pink shade (shade 4, top row)  together for the inner third of my eye lid. I then used the first shade on the bottom row, a rusty shimmery pink for the rest of my eyelid. I then used a darker version of this shade (shade 5, bottom row) for the outer corner of my lid. I finally used the end shade on the top row for under my eyes, on my bottom lash line. I wanted to keep it subtle, so I only lightly applied these shades! I then used the L’oreal So Couture Super Liner – this stuff is so great and goes on amazingly smooth but you have to be reallllly careful to avoid mistakes! I finished the eyes off with my Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara on my top lashes and the BD Trade Secrets Loooooong Laaaaaashes mascara (isn’t that a pain in the arse of a name) on my bottom lashes! 

Et voila: here’s the final look: 

   
   
I 100% doubt I’ll be able to replicate that eyeliner flick for my V day plans but that’s life!! Do you have any exciting plans for the big V day? 

Love, S x

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Makeup Tutorial

Leave a Reply

