Beauty

July Birchbox Review

Hey Everyone,

Today’s post is all about my second Birchbox that I received and this time it’s the July box! This one included a sample of one of the Benefit lip and cheek tints for everyone alongside a sample size of the Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water. Additionally, everyone received an extra treat this month and received 6 products instead of the usual 5 – win win. Here’s what I received this month:

Percy and Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Overnight Recovery 30ml (full size: £20) – This is a product that I spotted on the site before the release of the boxes and got super excited about possibly trying. It’s a cream overnight mask type product that you apply to your hair before bed, then wash out and shampoo as normal the next morning. What makes this product pretty special however is the fact that you don’t have to cover your hair or your pillow after you apply it, it just dries within your hair and voila – it gets to work! Pretty nifty stuff. I’m yet to try this out but I am super duper excited to try it!

Benefit Cosmetics Chachatint Lip and Cheek Stain (full size: £25.50) – So this is probably one product in this months box that I won’t be using. I don’t approve of Benefit’s animal testing policy ( I know that this is a very complex topic but  in particular is extremely shady with their policy) so I probably wont be using this product but it is a lip/cheek stain. Mine is the orange toned shade and to be honest, I tried the product on my hand to see if it was actually a useful product and I can’t say it would be something that appeals to me anyway. The texture is super liquidy so I found that at least with my finger, there was no way I could sort of blend this in if I were to use it as a blusher. Maybe it’s successful as a lip tint though!

Catherine Malandrino Romance de Provence Eau de Parfum sample (full size: £55) – This is apparently a Birchbox exclusive product but I have no idea why I’ve never heard of this before. I’m normally an exceptionally picky person when it comes to perfume because I very easily get headaches and find some perfumes just too overpowering but this scent is LOVELY. I love it and want a full size version but that’s a pretty hefty price tag!

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eyeshadow Trio In Champagne Mocha (full size 10 shades: £15.50) – I like the fact this month included a mini eyeshadow trio for me because I don’t have many eyeshadow options that are really good for travelling as a lot of my palettes are much bigger. This is perfect for me because I can throw it in an overnight bag and quickly apply it in the morning when I want an easy daytime look for my eyes. The lightest shade doesn’t show up too much on my pale skin but the pigment of these is actually really impressive and I’m a huge fan of the shades, very me.

Rituals Hammam Delight Foaming Shower Gel (full size: 4.50) – I’m actually yet to try this shower gel as I’m saving it for travel with it being the perfect travel size but I am a huge fan of foaming shower gels – they just lather up so much better than normal gels. This one also smells really fresh and lovely, just like the original Liz Earle Cleans and Polish scent!

Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water sample (full size: £16) – Finally, this micellar water was included in everyone’s box this month. This is another one I’m yet to try but I do feel like micellar waters are all really the same? I’m happy to give this one a whirl but I do think that £16 is a little on the pricey side for a micellar water when I normally use the Garnier one for a quarter of the price! The natural ingredient aspect definitely does appeal to me and I have a face mask from this brand that I do love, I just don’t know if I’d make a big investment for a micellar water.

And that’s everything! I hope you enjoyed this weeks post – sorry for the lack of photos on last weeks post – I’ve had a couple of technical issues and a very busy few weeks! Don’t forget to check out my Instagram page here and follow me to get updates on the blog!

Love, S x

Leave a Reply

