Beauty

August Birchbox Review

Hey everyone! So today’s post is a little earlier than normal but I wanted to post about the August Birchbox as soon as I got it! This month’s box was mermaid and summer themed, with a whole bunch of mermaid inspired holiday-esque goodies. Here’s what was inside mine this month: 

First up is the Cargo Cosmetics Beach Blush in the shade Sunset Beach Sample (Full size: £28). So this is a blush-come-bronzer-come-highlighter all in one miracle product. The sample size is about the size of a lip balm which at first I thought was quite small but after trying this product out – a little goes a longggg way! You can tell this is a high quality product due to the fact it is incredibly pigmented. I love the fact that when I’m having a day where I apply less makeup or I’m rushed for time this does my blush bronze and highlight all at once – a true saviour! And the shade is gorgeous, perfect for the summer! I’m not sure I’d pay £28 for the full size product but I sure will be using every ounce of this sample size! 

So next up is one of the items that everyone received this month in their Birchbox, a Spectrum A05 Brush in the colour Bomb Shell (Full set worth £79.99 for 12 brushes and a case). Spectrum brushed are so gorgeous and in this month’ box you had the opportunity to choose the bomb shell shade or the glam clam shade. I loved them both so decided not to choose and ended up with a surprise! I love this brush already, I’ve used it to apply the cargo blush and it is perfect! It’s insanely soft and pretty AND vegan and cruelty free – the ultimate win. I want to buy the full set but it’s so expensive!  

The next thing that everyone received this month was one of the new Full Size LOC One and Done Eyeshadow Sticks (Worth £8). The one I received was in the shade Rock Steady and is a lovely shimmery grey shade. It’s super easy to use, making a really quick smokey eye by just swiping it across your eyelid and blending it out with a brush or your finger. I used this the other day when I was in a hurry and used my finger and it worked wonderfully! This stuff is definitely tough too, I swatched it on my hand and it needed a good old scrub in order to come off so this would be great for when you need a quick, easy, stay in place eyeshadow look!

The final thing that everyone received this month was a mermaid style hair product. I received the Bumble and Bumble Surf Creme Rinse Conditioner Sample (Full size: £22). I was really pleased to receive this, it’s a perrrct travel sized mini and is designed to create beach style waves when you leave your hair to dry naturally. I can’t wait to try this out because my hair could do with a little bit of wave definition and this smells LUSH. Not quite sure I’d be willing to pay a whopping £22 for a conditioner though – just me?

Another lucky full sized product I received this month is the Merci Handy Hello Sunshine Hand Cleansing Gel (worth £2.90). No word of a lie, this smells just like sun cream which I really love. It’s travel friendly and super cute to keep in your handbag and smells lovely. I’ve received a Merci Hand hand cream in a previous Birchbox and enjoyed it very much so I know that I’m probably going to enjoy this too!

And that’s everything this month! I’ve used up my gift subscription now but I have truly LOVED receiving these boxes, the day they arrive is brightened when I see the delivery so I may very well sign up again in the future! Nothing can stand between me and a mini beauty product…

Hope you’ve enjoyed this post and let me know what you got this month! 

Love, S x 

6 thoughts on “August Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

