Beauty

Hair Care Essentials

 

Hey everyone! So I’m not too big into hair, mainly because my hair isn’t very cooperative. I dream of luscious long locks and the ability to rock all the hairstyles under the sun. Realistically though, that’s not going to happen. I have long curly hair and although I’ve learnt to love it when I have it down or in a messy bun, I struggle to branch out and try new things purely because my hair sucks when it comes to volume and avoiding frizz. So I’ve learned a few ways to keep it in the best condition I could realistically and I hope this might help any of you out there who have the same problems! These are my current hair care essentials:

Lush Trichomania Solid Shampoo – (here) Lush cosmetics is my favourite company ever. I’m a total lush addict and geek but I’d never tried the solid shampoos before. Whilst I was in the shop once I was browsing the shampoos and this one stood out to me – it’s hydrating and for long or curly hair so perfect for me. It contains coconut oil so it’s great for dry hair and it does last a really long time. You’ll see in the picture that I keep it in a small dish – well this is only a third of the 100g bar you get at lush. And I’ve been using that for a while.

Naked Shampoo and Conditioner – (here & here) Naked is a company truthfully I’d never heard of before I tried it. I was looking for a new shampoo and I came across this range. They’re 97% natural so they contain no horrible chemicals that other shampoos contain. In the words of the company:

The Naked Truth: made with lots of naturally derived ingredients, without sulphates, parabens or petrochemicals, this is goodness in a bottle.

I’d never really considered the effect if these on my hair but they can’t be good for your scalp or keep your hair in it’s best condition. Plus I think natural is a great way to be so I really love this stuff. I picked up the shampoo and later the conditioner and I eased my hair into it. Many people find it makes your hair feel horrible the first week you use it. I was fully expecting my hair to feel like straw like everyone else suggested but for my hair I noticed no change. It felt a slight different texture when wet but when dry it was just as normal. When I took the photo above I hadn’t repurchased the shampoo but thankfully I got some more on Saturday so I’m back to using both the shampoo and conditioner and I love it so much. I have the bounce curls shampoo and the weightless conditioner.

COLAB Dry Shampoo – (here) I recently bought this dry shampoo to try it out. I still haven’t tried it out but I really love the scent and the fact it doesn’t leave white bits in your hair. Plus I think you always need to have dry shampoo at the ready especially if your hair can get greasy quickly like mine can.

John Freida 6 Effects Serum – (here) This stuff is da bomb. I love it. You run it through your hair when it’s wet and prevents frizz and keeps curly hair silly rather than wispy. It’s basically a very useful oil/serum for your hair and the tiniest amount goes a long long way. Perfect for dry or frizzy or damaged ends. 

TRESemmé Perfectly (un)done Dry Defining Spray – (here) I got this on a whim one day when it was on special offer in supedrug. I was hoping to get the mousse version but they were all sold out so bought this instead. I don’t regret it. I don’t blow dry my hair, I just leave it to dry naturally so a dry defining spray is actually more useful to me than a heavy mousse. It just adds some more texture so you can get more volume in your hair when styling it. Plus it smells amazing and the scent really lasts.

I’m sure I could find a bunch of other hair products I’ve loved in the past but I feel like one good thing you can do to your hair is mix up your routine from time to time to give it a bit of a boost! The one thing I haven’t mentioned here is heat protectant – believe me I know how important this is, but I haven’t been giving my hair any heat for a while so didn’t have one to recommend at the moment – watch this space though! 

Love, S x

Leave a comment